Staying With the Plan

Since I last posted Spring has blasted through and swept winter aside. Almost two weeks or so of above average temperatures in early May has led to an avalanche of green in the aspens and birches. During this time I have been setting the alarm for pre-dawn excursions to spots close to home. A few days ago I decided to revisit a beaver pond as the temperatures hovered just above freezing with clear skies. I expected fog and was not disappointed. But as I parked and set up and assessed the situation I realized that conditions would not (apparently) be as promising as I anticipated. There seemed to be too much fog

 

 

 

_NEF8501

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Out of desperation I decided to stay and make the best of this mediocre dawning. I reasoned that if I weighed anchor and charted a course to other destinations on my short list I might be travelling during sunrise and wasting what good light there might be that morning.

_NEF8514

Shortly the sun began to add colour to the sky and peek through the fog. It was now producing sufficient definition in the shoreline trees to attempt landscape images containing discernable features.

_NEF8523

The one picture element I thought might rescue this image was a lone Canada goose floating motionless near a small rock outcrop. Although small, it’s silhouette contrasted well with the fog. Likely the goose was behaving as a sentinel for his mate on her nest. As the sun rose a little higher the goose held its position. Soon the motionless goose commanded more of my attention as the sun turned the mist to a golden colour.

_NEF8533

As the sun continued to rise above the mist I realized that I had better exclude it from the images as it was overpowering the digital sensor, even with the use of a graduated neutral density filter.

_NEF8543

Fortunately I packed my long lens that morning and I began using it to isolate the goose in the sunlit fog.

_DSC2063

By moving my tripod a couple of meters I could omit the sun’s direct reflection.

_DSC2084

Finally, back to shorter lenses before the sun got too high.

_NEF8552

About Dawns _Images
I (Don Johnston) am a wildlife and landscape photographer based in Lively, Northern Ontario. My work is represented by All Canada Photos (Victoria), agefotostock (Spain), Interphoto (Germany), PhotoEdit (USA) and Alamy (England). I am widely published in books, magazines, calendars as well as advertising media and decor. My personal stock photography website www.donjonstonphotos.com has over 10 000 images in galleries plus a search feature. Like many other nature photographers I am self-taught beginning with film in the 1980s and continuing through the 21st century with digital. I taught high school biology for thirty years, retiring in 2003 to pursue photography full time.

8 Responses to Staying With the Plan

  1. Dudley Danielson says:

    Not only a fine series of photos but a true capturing of God’s precious beginning to your brand new day. Well done!

  2. There’s certainly a lot to know about this issue. I really like all of the points you made.

  3. warren munroe says:

    Very beautiful sunset series.

  4. warren munroe says:

    Excuse me, i meant to say sunrise….gorgeous.

  5. Admiring the commitment you put into your website and in depth information
    you provide. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material.
    Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  6. John says:

    Great images, Don. As the saying goes, “It’s the early bird that gets the worm.”

  7. tonysweet says:

    That’s one helluva sunrise situation, Don! Excellent and instructive image series!!

  8. Mike says:

    Amazing sunrise. Great wildlife shots. Loved that chickadee at maple sickle.

Leave a Reply

