Blue Box Day

I was downstairs at the computer this morning, editing wildlife photos from my recent Haida Gwaii trip when Brenda called down to remind me that it is garbage day. The recycling truck comes early so I dutifully headed outside and loaded the blue boxes onto a cart. While I trundled the blue boxes down the driveway toward the road I started noticing things to photograph and resolved to return with camera, tripod and macro lens.

We’ve had a dry summer so far, near drought-like in parts of Ontario. Our blueberries have suffered this year and the threat of wildfires hung in the air too. Yesterday brought a gentle, steady, night-long rain which was most welcome.

The ferns and grasses were covered with raindrops and there was hardly a breeze. Colours are enriched by the raindrops and there was a sense of delicacy everywhere. Such ephemeral beauty does not last long. There were very few biting insects to harass me. One hundred and fifty photos or so later I was rejoicing in this excellent ‘Close-to-home’ photo experience.

Raindrops and fireweed flowers

Here are some other selects. Please enjoy. Technically I like to use shallow depths of field which keeps shutter speed high and backgrounds soft. For some subjects (not shown here) I will employ Helicon software to extend the focus, while maintaining soft backgrounds. For some subjects it is very important to line up the plane of the camera back with the main plane of the subject.

Raindrops on fern fronds

Raindrops on dogbane leaves

Raindrops on blades of grasses

Raindrops on blades and stalks of bearded shorthusk grass

About Dawns _Images
I (Don Johnston) am a wildlife and landscape photographer based in Lively, Northern Ontario. My work is represented by All Canada Photos (Victoria), agefotostock (Spain), Interphoto (Germany), PhotoEdit (USA) and Alamy (England). I am widely published in books, magazines, calendars as well as advertising media and decor. My personal stock photography website www.donjonstonphotos.com has over 10 000 images in galleries plus a search feature. Like many other nature photographers I am self-taught beginning with film in the 1980s and continuing through the 21st century with digital. I taught high school biology for thirty years, retiring in 2003 to pursue photography full time.

2 Responses to Blue Box Day

  1. John says:

    Awesome shots, Don. What equipment and settings did you use?

    • Hi John. Tripod, 200 mm macro. Fairly wide apertures, 200 ISO. I also like to use mirror-lock-up and cable release. Sometimes live view helps at low levels. I can zoom in for critical focus.

Leave a Reply

