WordPress newbie first post

Hi there

Many thanks to Chad for helping me set up this blog.

This is an initial post to get things going. I am a photographer, based in Northern Ontario. As such I expect to post pictures along with words. I specialize in North American wildlife and landscapes, along with plants, gardens, abstracts and photo impressionism. I hope to post news, images from recent photo shoots and insights into how I do photography.

Currently I’m prepping for an extended trip out west, my second in four months. Brenda is staying home this time, minding the fort and the gardens. I’ve taken John Marriott’s offer to participate in his Orca tour http://blog.wildernessprints.com/2011/08/orca-and-humpback-photo-tour.html and I will be leaving Lively on Wednesday to travel to Vancouver Island. I hope to combine the Orca tour with some late summer mountain photography in both the US and Canada. Meanwhile, thousands of unprocessed digital image files remain in the backlog of the computer. Such is the life of a digital photographer. I can never keep up!

Here’s one or two shots from the May trip.

Palouse farmland from Steptoe Butte State Park

Loons on Herbert Lake, Banff National Park

Reflections in Vermillion Lake #3, with yellow-rumped warbler. Banff National Park

About Dawns _Images
I (Don Johnston) am a wildlife and landscape photographer based in Lively, Northern Ontario. My work is represented by All Canada Photos (Victoria), agefotostock (Spain), Interphoto (Germany), PhotoEdit (USA) and Alamy (England). I am widely published in books, magazines, calendars as well as advertising media and decor. My personal stock photography website www.donjonstonphotos.com has over 10 000 images in galleries plus a search feature. Like many other nature photographers I am self-taught beginning with film in the 1980s and continuing through the 21st century with digital. I taught high school biology for thirty years, retiring in 2003 to pursue photography full time.

3 Responses to WordPress newbie first post

  1. Great stuff, Don, I love that first image. Welcome to the world of blogging, we’ll see you next week!

  2. karen millen says:

    I like you article,thank you very much!

  3. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation however I in finding this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very wide for me. I am taking a look forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

